/build/static/layout/Breadcrumb_cap_w.png

Software Question


K1000 - What controls the downgrade rights calculation

05/03/2016 1117 views
Is there any KACE documentation that describes how software compliance downgrade rights are calculated?   We have not taken the jumpstart training yet but I have started to load licenses and the downgrade right applications don't seem to be correct.   For example when I research Windows 7 Enterprise downgrade rights on the Microsoft Licensing web site it shows that it can cover Windows 7 Professional as a downgrade.    When I loaded the license Enterprise showed as a surplus and did not cover the Professional licenses from a downgrade perspective.    When I enter licenses it shows that a license can be associated with multiple software catalog entries and when I add Professional to the Enterprise license  it covers the professional installs but keeps the surplus on the Enterprise licenses.   Very confusing......   Is there a KB article or user doc that explains the "secret sauce" on how to control these calculations so they will reflect Microsoft's licensing downgrade rights?  
0 Comments   [ + ] Show comments

Comments


All Answers

0

In summary, software downgrade and upgrade rights rolls up to product or product+edition (for same product and edition). By default, Downgrade rights will downgrade to all older versions of the software. Upgrade rights will upgrade to next higher version of the software. With K1 7.0, there are additional options to manage software upgrade and downgrade rights. This allows customers to control the behavior and accurately manage complex upgrade/downgrade scenarios such as Windows. Users can select specific software items from the list to downgrade or upgrade.

 

Under the default behavior, the process will capture the available licenses and use it for same version to meet the compliance need and then sum up all leftover (unused) licenses for downgrade rights that can be allocated and then allocate as necessary for lower versions. The order of operation should be descending. The reason for this logic is many publishers allow downgrades to only one version below. For some publishers it does not matter as one them will be out of compliance.

Answered 04/13/2017 by: nmorea
Senior White Belt

Don't be a Stranger!

Sign up today to participate, stay informed, earn points and establish a reputation for yourself!

Sign up! or login

View more:

Share

 
This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site and/or clicking the "Accept" button you are providing consent Quest Software and its affiliates do NOT sell the Personal Data you provide to us either when you register on our websites or when you do business with us. For more information about our Privacy Policy and our data protection efforts, please visit GDPR-HQ