/build/static/layout/Breadcrumb_cap_w.png

Best Practices Question


Users getting rebooted/losing work - patching issues.

10/06/2016 1328 views

We have a master patch schedule setup: Detect and Deploy

We have users that are getting forced to reboot before being prompted four times. Here are our settings.

yNb4jL.jpeg

The admin guide is no help:

  • prompt user only addresses rollbacks
  • reboot delay does not give a visible countdown, never has

 

 

Answer Summary:
1 Comment   [ + ] Show comment

Comments

  • Have you tried or considered two separate detect and deploy schedules instead of a single detect/deploy one? It has been reported on some cases that if you have one single detect and deploy to cause unexpected force reboots on some systems. This could be a workaround for your environment, try scheduling one single detect job one day and a deploy another day and see the results.
    • This is the method that we use and we don't encounter forced reboots until the users run out of snoozes.
  • This content is currently hidden from public view.
    Reason: Removed by member request For more information, visit our FAQ's.

Answer Chosen by the Author

1
UPDATE: This is a known issue.

(Just off the phone will Dell)

See these links:
https://support.software.dell.com/k1000-systems-management-appliance/kb/179673/quickshare
https://support.software.dell.com/k1000-systems-management-appliance/kb/188327

No matter how you have patching setup users will get rebooted in 3 hours. NO MATTER WHAT.

Even if you have No Reboot set. Even if you have 10 prompts at 60 minutes each. Even if they press Snooze.

Multiple customers are complaining about it - support knows about it. They say version 7.0 will resolve it. 

Don't hold your breath.

Answered 10/07/2016 by: matthewconlon
Yellow Belt

All Answers

1
Do you know what update is causing the reboot? We ran into this as well and for us it was a Bluetooth update:

Intel(R) Wireless Bluetooth(R)(patch version 18.1.1607.3129)

We disabled the specific update under Security -> Dell Updates -> Catalog. Haven't had the time yet to figure out why this was ignoring the 'no reboot' option that we configured.
Answered 10/07/2016 by: DLans
White Belt

Don't be a Stranger!

Sign up today to participate, stay informed, earn points and establish a reputation for yourself!

Sign up! or login

Share

 
This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site and/or clicking the "Accept" button you are providing consent Quest Software and its affiliates do NOT sell the Personal Data you provide to us either when you register on our websites or when you do business with us. For more information about our Privacy Policy and our data protection efforts, please visit GDPR-HQ